Do You Need a Language Coach?

Ángeles Fernández
4 min readJun 1, 2019

And what about if it’s free? (Well, you can start using the free option!)

In case you still don’t know about it, I am talking about an app I just tried few days ago. It’s name is Speechling. Well, in fact you can either use their app or the web, both work great.

I just tried it to improve my English first, and I found it so helpful! I had to listen to a sentence / word, and then clicked to record it. And one day later, my personal language coach sent me some feedback about my pronunciation.

I must say I’m impressed. It’s free! For those who want to improve their foreigh language skills, it’s a good an affordable way to do it.

These are the available languages you can practice: English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Japanese and Chinese.

Speechling offers several activities: Dictations and listening practices, Vocabulary exercises or Feel in the blanks.

Oh, about the price, it’s free, except for the coaching services. As they say, they “cap the coaching to 10–35 sessions per month.” But if you need more, the price is not very high: from $19.99/month and this options includes unlimited daily coaching and full access to their offline premium resources, among other features.

From my point of view, if you are interested in learning languages, it’s a good tool. And, if you are extremely interested in improving a language, the price is not excesive according to what the offer.

--

--

Ángeles Fernández

Born and living in Spain. After many years working for a private company in Spain, Angeles is now teaching Spanish online. https://spanishlanguage.substack.com/